Self-confidence: how does it affect blog commentary?

I’m thinking a lot about how self perceptions changes when contributing on the internet. Particularly, I’m thinking about how people may become more confident in a virtual environment.

Do you think people tend to act more confidently when they post comments on a (or, your?) blog? If so, how do you think affects the communication within the micro-community that is established on that blog entry?

I’m interested to hear your thoughts and experiences. Feel free to post below, or at the Nature Networks Forum.

2 Responses to “Self-confidence: how does it affect blog commentary?”


  1. 1 cecilia rosen March 3, 2010 at 10:47 am

    This is the first time EVER that I actually comment on someone’s else blog…
    At some point I was feeling already wired by this fact (doing a “Science and the Web” module and not even bothering to actually experience what is like to comment haha).
    So…here it goes.
    I don’t really have an answer on why despite spend hours and hours surfing the web I rearely post anything or interact in anyway with that “world”. In some way maybe I have limited myself to read other people’s comments, but never feel that “I have to” say anyhing…
    It may sound strange, but I think I feel much more confident when I’m talking to people, and not when I’m interacting with other “users” in the www. And again, I don’t know why.
    Maybe is because I link the written word with certain tone of “seriousness” or something like that. Of course this is even worst in English, because is not my first language. But I don’t do it much in Spanish anyway…
    I will keep thinking on this and try to give you more answers…I think is a very interesting topic, by the way.

  2. 2 Get Confidence April 28, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Confidence is built from within. Everybody can act in certain ways but true confidence is something you know internally and not an act.


Leave a Reply

